Meeting/Event Information

For Friday lunch meetings, cancellations must be received by 5 p.m. on the preceeding Monday to avoid being billed. For other special events, cancellations must be received at least four days prior to the event to avoid billing. 

IABC/Arkansas Presents COTY, Woodruff Awards

November 18, 2015
11:45 AM to 1:30 PM
 Add to Calendar

Heifer Village
1 World Avenue
Little Rock, AR 72202

Each year, IABC/Arkansas honors communications excellence with the Communicator of the Year (COTY) and John K. Woodruff Award for Lifetime Achievement. This year's COTY winner is Kevin Delaney, with the Museum of Discovery (MOD), and Craig O'Neill, with KTHV, will receive the Woodruff honor.

Kevin Delaney is an artist and educator based out of Little Rock. He has been performing since he was a child and teaching since 2003 and has been creating science-based theatre and musical pieces for schools, libraries, zoos and museums since 2009. In 2014 he began appearing as the resident science educator for the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. He currently serves as the Director of Visitor Experience at the Museum of Discovery in Little Rock, where he continues to entertain and engage visitors in science, technology, engineering and math- except not so much math.

Craig O'Neill's career as a deejay began in 1969. A self-confessed sports nut, he became the host of ESPN2 Outdoors in 1995. In 1997, Craig became the stadium announcer for all home football games for the Arkansas Razorbacks. In December of 1999, he joined KTHV. On his first day of work, he was sent to Dallas to cover the Cotton Bowl game between the Arkansas Razorbacks and the Texas Longhorns. In June of 2008, he went into news with Dawn Scott and Liz Massey. Craig holds the distinction of being the only disc jockey to ever host a dance at the White House.

COTY is presented a non-IABC member who leads the way in fostering and participating in professional communication. Established in 2007 in memory of John Woodruff, the John K. Woodruff Award for Lifetime Achievement honors lifetime achievement and/or body of work in the field of professional business communication. The award is open to both members and non-members of IABC/Arkansas.

The COTY and Woodruff Award recipients are selected by the IABC/Arkansas Past Presidents' Council. Proceeds from this event fund student scholarships for communication majors at Harding University, Ouachita Baptist University and University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Previous COTY recipients include: Judge Chris Piazza, Gov. Mike Beebe, Philip Mann, Phyllis Brandon, Jo Luck, Lt. Terry Hastings, Dr. Fitzgerald Hill, Patrick Henry Hays, Steve Arrison, Michael Blakely, President Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Jim Dailey, Richard Davies, John Deering, Dr. Joycelyn Elders, Mike Huckabee, Robert Hupp, Keith Jackson, Charles L. Kelly, Jane McDaniel, Rex Nelson, Colleen Nick, AI Pollard, Craig Rains, Brenda Scisson, Bob Sells, Steve Stephens, Joe Swaty and Larry Woodard.

Previous Woodruff Award recipients include: Ernie Dumas, the late Dale Nicholson Charlotte Schexnayder, Ronald A. Robinson, Terry Wallace, Leroy Donald, Ouida Cox and the late John K. Woodruff.

 View Photos


$40.00 Guests

$30.00 IABC Members